Connections Newsletter vs Kit
What Connections Newsletter and Kit each do, their pricing as published, and how to match each to the needs of the person who runs things.
Uncommon Comforts is published by the team behind Connections, whose products are compared here alongside other tools.
Kit is an email marketing and newsletter platform that helps creators turn audience insights into revenue. [1] Its page says users can run a newsletter with subscriptions, create automated email sequences, and sell digital products. [1] [1] [1] Connections Newsletter is a web app where a post can be published to a public page and sent by email as separate actions [2] [2]. Making publications is free [2], every publication gets a public archive [2], and the subscriber list can be downloaded as a CSV [2].
| Option | Own platform fee | Card payment fee |
|---|---|---|
| Kit | not published; a 14-day free trial with no credit card is offered [1] | not published |
| Connections Newsletter | free to make, with no paid tier for creating a publication [2] | not published |
The short answer
Kit is an email marketing and newsletter platform that helps creators turn audience insights into revenue. [1] Its page says users can run a newsletter with subscriptions, set up welcome sequences, launches, and nurture campaigns, and sell digital products with simple product pages, automated fulfillment, and low transaction fees. [1] [1] [1] Connections Newsletter is a web app hosted on Cloudflare Pages [2] where a post can be published to a public page and sent by email as separate actions [2]. Making publications is free [2], and free sends run about 300 emails a week [2]. Kit's page lists paid newsletters, welcome sequences and launches, and digital product sales [1] [1] [1]. Connections Newsletter's claims describe a public archive and choosing who receives each send [2] [2].
What Kit is built for
Kit is an email marketing and newsletter platform that helps creators turn audience insights into revenue [1]. Its page says it lets users market products and services using email marketing features built for creators [1]. Users can run a newsletter with subscriptions. [1] They can set up welcome sequences, launches, and nurture campaigns that run around the clock while they create [1]. They can sell digital products with simple product pages, automated fulfillment, and low transaction fees [1] and write emails once that keep selling for years with Visual Automations [1]. Subscriber Signals shows subscriber demographics and social followings [1]. The Kit App Store connects business tools in one place [1]. A Growth Concierge team gives a direct line to an in-house email strategist, deliverability specialist, and solutions team [1]. It offers a 14-day free trial with no credit card required [1] and includes migration with every paid plan [1].
What Connections Newsletter is built for
Connections Newsletter is made by the team that publishes this site. It is a web app hosted on Cloudflare Pages [2]. A post can be published to a public page and sent by email as separate actions, so the two do not have to happen together [2]. Every publication gets a public page with its archive, an RSS feed, and an iframe form that can be embedded on another site [2]. New subscribers start as pending and become active through double opt-in [2]. The subscriber list can be downloaded as a CSV at any time [2]. After a send, the live numbers for that post can be seen and refreshed [2]. A welcome email with a subject and message can be turned on for new subscribers [2]. When sending, the choice is everyone or only subscribers holding any of some tags [2]. The send API accepts an optional start time [2]. A postal address is required before the first send [2]. Making publications is free, and there is no paid tier for creating a publication [2]. Free sends run about 300 emails a week [2].
Pricing and fees
Kit offers a 14-day free trial with no credit card required [1]. Kit does not publish its paid prices in the source at hand, so the cost of a paid Kit plan is not stated. Kit's page says it sells digital products with low transaction fees, but it does not put a number on those fees [1]. Kit includes migration with every paid plan [1]. Connections Newsletter states its price plainly: making publications is free, and there is no paid tier for creating a publication [2]. Free sends run about 300 emails a week [2]. The price of sends beyond that weekly amount is not published here. A postal address is required before the first send, though it is a legal requirement rather than a fee [2].
Getting started
Kit starts with a 14-day free trial that requires no credit card [1]. Kit's page says migration is included with every paid plan [1]. Kit does not spell out the steps to send a first email in the source at hand, so the exact setup is not stated. Connections Newsletter is a web app hosted on Cloudflare Pages, so there is no program to install [2]. Making publications is free with no paid tier for creating one [2]. New subscribers start as pending and become active through double opt-in [2]. A postal address is required before the first send [2]. At send time the choice is everyone or only subscribers holding any of some tags [2], and the send API accepts an optional start time [2].
Things to check before you choose
For either tool, ask what a send costs once volume grows beyond what is free, and where the plan prices for that are published. Ask which card payment service, if any, must be connected for what is planned, and what transaction fees apply, since neither source states a card fee number. Ask whether paid subscriptions or digital product sales matter to the plan, because Kit's page offers both, while Connections Newsletter's claims do not mention them [1] [1]. Ask whether the archive should be public, since Connections Newsletter gives every publication a public page and archive [2]. Ask about getting the subscriber list out again, since Connections Newsletter allows a CSV download and Kit includes migration on paid plans [2] [1].
How to choose
For a newsletter with subscriptions, Kit's page says users can run a paid newsletter. [1] For welcome sequences, launches, and nurture campaigns, Kit's page lists those features [1]. For selling digital products, Kit's page lists simple product pages and automated fulfillment [1]. For a newsletter with a public archive, Connections Newsletter gives every publication a public page and archive [2]. To choose who receives each send, Connections Newsletter lets you pick everyone or only subscribers with any of some tags [2]. To take the subscriber list elsewhere, Connections Newsletter offers a CSV download [2], and Kit includes migration with its paid plans [1].
Frequently asked questions
Does Kit require a credit card for its free trial?
Kit offers a 14-day free trial with no credit card required [1]. Kit does not publish its paid plan prices in the source at hand, so the cost after the trial is not stated. Migration is included with every paid plan [1].
Is Connections Newsletter free to use?
Making publications is free, and there is no paid tier for creating a publication [2]. Free sends run about 300 emails a week [2]. A postal address is required before the first send [2]. Connections Newsletter does not publish what sending beyond that weekly amount costs.
Can a subscriber list be moved to another service?
Connections Newsletter lets a person download the subscriber list as a CSV at any time, so the list can be taken elsewhere [2]. Kit includes migration with every paid plan [1]. Ask either tool for the exact process before committing.
Does Kit support paid newsletters?
Kit's page says users can run a newsletter with subscriptions. [1] Its page also says users can sell digital products with simple product pages, automated fulfillment, and low transaction fees. [1] Kit does not state the transaction fee amount in the source at hand, so that number should be checked before choosing it.
What email features does Kit say are built for creators?
Kit's page says it is an email marketing and newsletter platform that helps creators turn audience insights into revenue [1]. It says users can market products and services using email marketing features built for creators [1], set up welcome sequences, launches, and nurture campaigns [1], and use Visual Automations to write emails once that keep working [1].
Making publications is free; there is no paid tier for creating a publication. [2] Free sends about 300 emails a week. [2]
Try Connections NewsletterSources
Related comparisons
- beehiiv alternatives in 2026 and how to choose
- beehiiv vs Kit in 2026: Newsletter Tool Guide
- beehiiv vs Mailchimp in 2026: Plans, Sends and Setup
- beehiiv vs Substack in 2026 Compared
- Best email newsletter software in 2026
- Best email newsletter software for small business owners in 2026
- Connections Newsletter vs Mailchimp in 2026
- Connections Newsletter vs Substack in 2026
- Kit alternatives in 2026: options compared by what you need
- Mailchimp Alternatives in 2026: Options Compared