Uncommon Comforts Plain comparisons of the tools you keep your people and your work in

Connections Market vs Shpock

Compare Connections Market and Shpock for buying and selling locally: what each does, pricing, how to start, and things to check before you choose.

By Uncommon Comforts ยท

Uncommon Comforts is published by the team behind Connections, whose products are compared here alongside other tools.

Shpock runs a local second-hand classifieds marketplace for buying and selling items, with buyer protection. [1] [1] Connections Market is a seller workspace where you list items and can publish, mark sold, relist and save listings without paying a listing fee. [2] The choice is between a local second-hand marketplace with buyer protection and a tool that drafts the listing and suggests prices from nearby sales. [1] [1] [2] [2]

OptionWhat it doesFee to listPaid plans
ShpockA local second-hand classifieds marketplace for buying and selling items [1]not publishednot published; the page names a service called Shpock+ for Professionals [1]
Connections MarketA signed-in seller workspace where you list items and can draft listings from photos [2] [2]Listing, marking sold, relisting and saving costs nothing [2]Connections Free costs $0 [2]; Connections Pro is $39.99 a month [2]; Connections Business is $99.99 a month [2]

The short answer

Shpock operates a local second-hand classifieds marketplace for buying and selling items. [1] For a person who runs things, it is a place to buy and sell used and new items nearby, and its page says it provides buyer protection. [1] [1] Connections Market is a seller workspace where you list items and can publish, mark sold, relist and save listings without paying a listing fee. [2] [2]

Which one meets your needs depends on whether you want a local second-hand marketplace with buyer protection, or a tool that drafts the listing and suggests a price based on nearby sales. Shpock describes itself as a local second-hand classifieds marketplace for buying and selling items and says it provides buyer protection. [1] [1] Market drafts the listing from photos and suggests a price based on what similar items sold for nearby. [2] [2]

What Shpock is built for

Shpock's own pages describe it as a local second-hand classifieds marketplace for buying and selling items. [1] Its page describes the marketplace as serving buyers and sellers across the United Kingdom. [1]

Shpock's page lists the categories it supports, which range from electronics, fashion, items for babies and children and furniture for home and garden to cars and property. [1] You can buy and sell both used and new items. [1]

The page names London, Brighton, Birmingham, Bristol, Manchester, Leicester and Liverpool as some of its most active areas for second-hand shopping. [1] Shpock provides a buyer protection service. [1] It offers a service called Shpock+ for Professionals. [1] Shpock provides an app you can download from the Apple App Store and through Google Play. [1] [1]

What Connections Market is built for

Connections Market is made by the team that publishes this site, Uncommon Comforts. It is the signed-in seller workspace, and you sign in with the shared Connections account. [2] [2] Market has no login of its own and no landing page of its own. [2] [2]

Upload photos of an item and Market drafts the listing for you, including title, description, category, condition and a price hint. [2] Market suggests a price based on what similar items sold for nearby, with fast-sale, balanced and max-value options. [2]

Anyone can browse and search Market listings without signing in. [2] Every listing gets its own page you can share with a link. [2] You can message sellers directly and manage every listing conversation in one inbox, and buyers and sellers can message each other anonymously without sharing personal contact details. [2] [2] A buyer on a paid order can ask for help. [2]

Pricing and fees

Shpock's prices are not published on the pages cited here, so check Shpock's current pricing before you decide. Shpock's page does name a service called Shpock+ for Professionals; its price is not stated. [1]

Connections Market lets you publish, mark sold, relist and save listings without paying a listing fee. [2] Listing, marking sold, relisting and saving items on Market costs nothing. [2] For AI-drafted listings, light sellers can draft them free every week, and drafting at business volume spends the weekly AI pool. [2]

Connections Free costs $0, and going over a limit stops the feature rather than billing you. [2] Connections Pro, the first paid plan, is $39.99 a month and adds premium features across every Connections product. [2] Connections Business is $99.99 a month, with higher limits across every Connections product. [2]

The table below sets out only what is published for each.

Getting started

To start with Shpock, its page says you can get an app from the Apple App Store or through Google Play. [1] [1] The sign-up steps are not described here, so look at the first screens to see what it asks for.

To start with Connections Market, you sign in with the shared Connections account. [2] Market has no login of its own. [2] Its backend and web app have been live since 2026-06-22. [2] Sellers use Market on the web. [2]

For the first job, upload photos of an item and Market drafts the listing for you. [2] Market suggests a price based on what similar items sold for nearby. [2] Anyone can browse and search listings without signing in, and every listing gets its own shareable page. [2] [2]

The sign-up steps for Market are not covered here, so check the first screens before you commit.

Things to check before you choose

Ask whether you want to buy and sell on a local second-hand marketplace. Shpock describes its service as a local second-hand classifieds marketplace for buying and selling items. [1] The cited pages do not count Connections Market's listings or buyers, so ask what reach you need before you choose.

Ask whether you want buyer protection. Shpock provides a buyer protection service. [1] Ask what that service covers before you rely on it.

Ask whether you want the listing written for you and the price set from nearby sales. Market does that. [2] [2] Ask how payment works; Market captures payment only after the pickup code is confirmed. [2]

Ask for the current prices of both before you commit, because Shpock's prices are not published here.

How to choose

If you want a local second-hand marketplace for buying and selling, Shpock's page says it is one. [1] If buyer protection matters, Shpock's page lists that service. [1]

If you want the listing drafted from your photos, with title, description, category, condition and a price hint written for you, Market does that. [2] If you want a suggested price from what similar items sold for nearby, Market offers that. [2] If you want anonymous messaging between buyer and seller, Market has that. [2]

If you want to list, mark sold, relist and save without paying a listing fee, Market lets you do that. [2] If you want a plan that is free to start, Connections Free costs $0. [2]

Ask for Shpock's current pricing, because its prices are not published here.

Frequently asked questions

What is Shpock used for?

Shpock's page says it is a local second-hand classifieds marketplace for buying and selling items. [1] It identifies London, Brighton, Birmingham, Bristol, Manchester, Leicester and Liverpool as some of its most active areas for second-hand shopping. [1] The page says you can buy and sell used and new items, and it provides a buyer protection service. [1] [1]

Does Connections Market charge a fee to list an item?

No. Connections Market lets you publish, mark sold, relist and save listings without paying a listing fee, and listing, marking sold, relisting and saving items on Market costs nothing. For AI-drafted listings, light sellers can draft them free every week, and drafting at business volume spends the weekly AI pool. The paid Connections plans carry monthly prices across every Connections product.

Is Shpock free to use?

The prices of Shpock are not published on the pages cited here, so its cost is not stated and should be checked before deciding. Its page names a service called Shpock+ for Professionals, but no price for it is given. Ask for the current prices of Shpock before you commit to it.

How do you price an item listed on Connections Market?

Market suggests a price based on what similar items sold for nearby, with fast-sale, balanced and max-value options. [2] When you upload photos of an item, Market also drafts the rest of the listing for you, including title, description, category, condition and a price hint.

Does Connections Market have buyer protection?

The cited claims do not describe a buyer protection service for Connections Market, so check what is offered before you rely on it. Market does let a buyer on a paid order ask for help, and it captures payment only after the pickup code is confirmed. Shpock's page, by contrast, states that it provides a buyer protection service.

Listing, marking sold, relisting and saving items on Market costs nothing. [2] Light sellers can draft AI listings free every week; drafting at business volume spends the weekly AI pool. [2]

Try Connections Market

Sources

  1. Shpock, shpock.com, read 2026-10-23
  2. Connections Market's own description of itself (the product of this site's publisher)

Related comparisons