---
{"title": "Claude vs Microsoft Copilot in 2026", "description": "A plain comparison of what Claude and Microsoft Copilot plans, prices and features are, set beside what Connections Boardroom covers.", "url": "https://uncommoncomforts.com/claude-vs-microsoft-copilot/", "date": "2026-11-05"}
---
A plain comparison of what Claude and Microsoft Copilot plans, prices and features are, set beside what Connections Boardroom covers.

The right choice depends on the job you need done, so the questions in the last sections are worth answering before you pick.

| Option | Free option | Paid plans |
|---|---|---|
| Claude | Pro gives you at least 5x more usage per 5-hour session than Free. [^1] | Claude Max starts from $100 per month. [^1] Claude Max gives 5x or 20x more usage per 5-hour session than Claude Pro. [^1] Claude Code is included in all paid plans. [^1] |
| Microsoft Copilot plans | Microsoft Copilot has a free tier that needs a signed-in Microsoft account. [^2] Microsoft offers the web versions of Word, Excel and PowerPoint free. [^2] | Microsoft 365 subscriptions include the Copilot app and additional premium features. [^2] |
| Connections Boardroom | The Boardroom is for paying members only. [^3] Connections Free costs $0, and going over a limit stops the feature rather than billing you. [^3] | The Boardroom price is not stated here. Connections Pro is $39.99 a month. [^3] Connections Business is $99.99 a month. [^3] |

## The short answer

Microsoft Copilot's page says it helps you research, create and get answers, with some capabilities subject to usage limits. [^2] Microsoft 365 subscriptions include the Copilot app, desktop versions of familiar productivity apps, and additional premium features. [^2]

Claude Max starts from $100 per month. [^1] Before you choose, compare each tool against the specific work you need done.

Connections Boardroom works differently. You say one thing, then several advisers answer one after another, each from their own brief, and they can argue with each other. [^3] Saying 'Wrap it up' writes the minutes and a plan from the meeting. [^3]

Microsoft Copilot's page says it helps you research, create and get answers, with some capabilities subject to usage limits. [^2] In grill mode, the advisers ask numbered questions about your plan, each with a suggested answer. [^3] Every meeting is also saved as a transcript that you can leave and come back to later. [^3]

## What Claude and Microsoft Copilot are built for

Microsoft Copilot's page describes Copilot Chat as providing AI-powered assistance across work and life through natural conversation. [^2] Copilot is available on the web, desktop, and mobile, and its page says you can use it across work and life in a single experience. [^2] Copilot responds only when you choose to use it, and your existing privacy and security settings continue to apply. [^2] Work and personal conversations stay separate, with chat history, files, and organizational protections tied to the right account. [^2] The updated experience carries over existing chats, history and files automatically. [^2]

For Claude, the facts used on this page cover pricing only. Its own pages should be read directly for what Claude does, since this page does not describe those features.

## What Connections Boardroom is built for

Connections Boardroom is made by the team that publishes this site, Uncommon Comforts. It is a web app that you use in a web browser. [^3] You can change the background, table and chairs of the room your board meets in. [^3]

Every workspace comes with five ready-made advisers and a starter room. [^3] You can also create your own board members by giving each one a photo, a written description and a voice. [^3] Creating a board member costs one credit. [^3]

Any adviser can take any seat at the table, and swapping one mid-meeting is a click. [^3] An adviser with nothing to add replies with a pass instead of padding out the meeting. [^3] The advisers can ask you numbered questions about your plan, each with a suggested answer, and any question you skip takes that suggestion. [^3]

You can drop a PDF, a Word document or a screenshot into a meeting, and the advisers read it. [^3] You can speak to the Boardroom instead of typing, and each reply is read aloud. [^3]

## Pricing and fees

Claude Max starts from $100 per month. [^1] Claude's annual plans are designed to cost less than monthly subscriptions. [^1] The seat price is added to usage charged at API rates. [^1]

With a signed-in Microsoft account, Microsoft Copilot has a free tier. [^2] Copilot's page says some capabilities are subject to usage limits, and more are available through paid plans. [^2] Microsoft 365 subscriptions include the Copilot app and additional premium features. [^2]

Connections Boardroom is for paying members only, and the paid plan it needs is not named here. [^3] The Boardroom price is not stated in the facts used for this page. Connections Free costs $0, and going over a limit stops the feature rather than billing you. [^3] Connections Pro, the first paid plan, is $39.99 a month and adds premium features across every Connections product. [^3] Connections Business is $99.99 a month, with higher limits across every Connections product. [^3] Meetings use up the member's Connections AI usage. [^3]

## Getting started

Microsoft Copilot's free tier is available with a signed-in Microsoft account. [^2] Microsoft Copilot needs iOS 26 or later on iPhones. [^2] On Android phones it needs Android 13 or later. [^2] Word, Excel and PowerPoint can also be used free on the web. [^2] Its page says the updated Copilot experience rolls out automatically, with no download or reinstall required. [^2]

The sign-up steps for Claude are not covered here, so check what its first screens ask for before you commit.

To start with Connections Boardroom, pick a scene, seat a few advisers, and say the first thing on your mind. [^3] Because it is for paying members only, a free Connections member has to upgrade to use it. [^3] Each new board member you create then costs one credit. [^3]

## Things to check before you choose

Ask which devices you use and whether they are covered. Microsoft Copilot is available on the web, desktop, and mobile. [^2] Connections Boardroom is a web app that you use in a web browser. [^3] The facts used here do not list Claude's device support, so check it before you commit.

Ask whether you need work and personal conversations kept apart. Microsoft Copilot's page says work and personal chats are kept separate. [^2]

Ask whether you need usage limits spelled out. Some Microsoft Copilot capabilities are subject to usage limits, and more are available through paid plans. [^2] Meetings in Connections Boardroom use up your Connections AI usage. [^3]

Ask whether you need a written record of a discussion. Every Connections Boardroom meeting is saved as a transcript that you can leave and come back to later. [^3] Check any number the minutes or plan contain against what was said, since numbers nobody stated are marked. [^3]

## How to choose

If you want help with research, creating things and getting answers, Microsoft Copilot's page says it supports those. [^2] If you want work and personal chats kept apart, its page says chat history, files and protections stay tied to the right account. [^2] If you want a free start, Microsoft Copilot has a free tier that needs a signed-in Microsoft account. [^2]

With Connections Boardroom, several advisers answer one after another and can argue with each other. [^3] Saying 'Wrap it up' writes the minutes and the plan from the meeting. [^3] The plan it needs is not named here. [^3]

If you are weighing Claude's plans, Claude Max starts from $100 per month. [^1] The paid price for Microsoft Copilot is not stated in the sources used here, so compare current prices before you decide. Claude's annual plans are designed to cost less than monthly subscriptions. [^1]

## Frequently asked questions

### Can Microsoft Copilot be used with a Microsoft account alone?

Yes, Microsoft Copilot has a free tier that needs a signed-in Microsoft account. [^2] Its page also says you can use the web versions of Word, Excel and PowerPoint free. [^2] Copilot's page says some capabilities are subject to usage limits, and more are available through paid plans. [^2] Microsoft 365 subscriptions include the Copilot app and additional premium features. [^2]

### Is Connections Boardroom included in Connections Free?

No. The Boardroom is for paying members only, so a free Connections member has to upgrade to use it. [^3] Connections Free costs $0, and going over a limit stops the feature rather than billing you. [^3] The Boardroom price is not stated in the facts used for this page. Connections Pro, the first paid plan, is $39.99 a month and adds premium features across every Connections product. [^3]

### How much does Claude Max cost?

Claude Max starts from $100 per month. [^1] Claude's annual plans are designed to cost less than monthly subscriptions. [^1] The seat price is added to usage charged at API rates. [^1]

### Can Microsoft Copilot be used on an iPhone or Android phone?

Yes, with a supported phone. Microsoft Copilot needs iOS 26 or later on iPhones. [^2] On Android phones it requires Android 13 or later. [^2] Microsoft Copilot is available on the web, desktop, and mobile. [^2] The updated Copilot experience rolls out automatically, with no download or reinstall required. [^2]

### Can Connections Boardroom read a PDF or a screenshot?

Yes. You can drop a PDF, a Word document or a screenshot into a meeting, and the advisers read it. [^3] If the minutes or plan contain a number that nobody stated in the meeting, that sentence is marked so you can see it. [^3] Check any marked figure against your own notes before you act on it.

A plan in the product file is named Connections Pro. [^3] Creating a board member costs one credit. [^3] - [Visit Connections Boardroom](/go/start-connections-boardroom)

## Sources

[^1]: Claude, claude.com/pricing, read 2026-10-08 (https://claude.com/pricing)
[^2]: Microsoft Copilot, copilot.microsoft.com, read 2026-11-01 (https://copilot.microsoft.com)
[^3]: Connections Boardroom's own description of itself (the product of this site's publisher) (/go/start-connections-boardroom)
